Baked Ravioli, aka Super Fast Lasagne

Problem,  I had the “no clue what to make for dinner”  issue. What to make, what to make. I had ravioli, had sauce,  but didn’t feel like ravioli and sauce, and somehow I thought “why not bake it” so I did. Quick, easy, delicious, and it actually tastes like lasagne, without all the work! How much easier can it get? Boil ravioli, brown meat, heat sauce, mix, bake, top with cheese, let finish baking and serve. If you really want to do more, make some garlic bread, also super easy.

Garlic and Butter = Love

 Garlic, Butter, Bread and Mozzarella = Complete Mouth Satisfaction

I made it more difficult than it really had to be, (yea I know, HUGE shock me making something more difficult) only because I also wanted some meat in it. But really I could have just boiled the ravioli, added the gravy without heating, tossed in a pan and let bake. Either way, it was still super easy, and it baked itself while I went outside and worked on the garden and container gardens.

mmmmm beef

Truth be told it tasted like Lasagne, which my brother-in-law pointed out, but was 1/4 of the work that Lasagne is! So hello new substitute for Lasagna. Unless it’s Christmas Eve or Easter and I’m really in the mood to get my Gravy Fix on.  Yes I say both Gravy and Sauce. Don’t know why, my Nonna always called it Gravy, Dad always called it Sauce, whichever fly’s out of my mouth first is what term I generally use.  Food runs in my veins.

So here are the instructions (Easy no meat version):

  • 1 Package Ravioli (standard size not the huge one)
  • 1 Jar Sauce ( I get it in a Jar from a local mom and pop restaurant up the street, try your own local area)
  • 1-2lbs Mozzarella, sliced (amount depends on how much cheese you like)

Boil ravioli according to package, drain. Toss back in the pan they jut came from, pour the sauce over, gently mix. Pour/place/scoop/dump into baking dish, bake for 20 minutes @ 375, top with a generous amount of sliced Mozzarella, put back in the oven and let continue baking until melted to desired stage of cheese love.

As my Italian upbringing taught me, all delicious meals are enjoyed with, and followed by an equally delicious and perfectly executed libation.  This meal was followed by Sambuca over three coffee beans. Each bean has a meaning; they represent health, happiness and prosperity.

Perfect Finish

Cin cin, and always remember, no matter what life throws you…..in bocca al lupo

7 thoughts on “Baked Ravioli, aka Super Fast Lasagne

    • Super easy. (for one loaf) 1 good size bulb (yes entire bulb) of garlic. Cloves seperated, skinned, de-germmed and minced. 1 stick of butter, a good amount of olive oil, and a 1lb log of mozzarella. Once the garlic is minced, throw it in a medium sauce pan with the butter and some olive oil and some salt and pepper, heat till the butter melts, then put on low and let it simmer for 10 minutes or so. (don’t let it turn brown, you don’t want it bitter) Slice the bread in half, from end to end, using a spoon distribute the garlic butter oil love evenly over both halves of the bread , let it soak in, spoon on more. Use as much or as little as you want. Slice the mozz, I usually keep it about 1/4″ thick, cover the bottom half of the bread with it. Once evey inch is covered with cheese, sandwich both halves together, wrap it tightly in parchment or tin foil, and bake at 375 till the cheese starts to ooze out. Let rest 5 minutes, then slice as you wish and enjoy!

    • Thanks Barb!
      That’s exactly it, I love lasagne too, sauce runs through my veins, but the time factor kills me. And now that it passed today’s unplanned blind taste test (LMAO) I think I love it even more 🙂 ❤

  1. I was pissing myself (okay, not literally) because I could not find this post. Yeah, archives. Jessica’s Baked Ravioli. It’s what’s for dinner.

    • Oh yay!!! Well not the non-literal pissing, but yay for deliciousness! I am so glad you found it! Note to self, make things more findable! Love the “it’s what’s for dinner” 😀

      So, how was it?!?!

  2. Nice read, I just passed this onto a colleague who was doing some research on that. And he actually bought me lunch because I found it for him smile So let me rephrase that: Thanks for lunch!

What do you think?

