Breakfast to go, without the drive thru.

I’ve always had a problem with breakfast. Morning time is precious, there’s always a long list of  “to-do’s”  and not enough time.  Cleaning, laundry, dinner prep, garden tending, watering, getting ready for the day, the list goes on and on.  When I finally have time to eat it’s time to walk out the door, and on top of it all,  I don’t like heavy food in the morning.  Then along came  Overnight Oats, the best breakfast invention since Auto-Start Coffee!  But I can’t take all the credit, in fact I can’t take any credit…

Overnight Oats

Several months ago my friend Michael Ruhlman tweeted something about a friend of his who was always inspiring, always upbeat, always encouraging, and she had great recipes to boot; he recommended that everyone check her blog out. Ruhlman is one of the few people who has “Culinary Common Sense.”  He’s no BS, no pretense, he doesn’t give out recipes that he hasn’t made himself, doesn’t pretend to be something he’s not; and in the food world, that’s not rare, it doesn’t exist. Basically, he’s just fucking awesome,  if  he says someone’s good, I trust him.  I checked her blog out and he was right, she’s awesome.  Her name is Kath, and her blog is KERF (Kath Eats Real Food) and it’s fantastic!!!

Kath loves Oatmeal, in every form possible, and she’s ALL about saving time! So pretty much all her recipes are short quick and to the point! Behold the magic of  “Overnight Oats”,  it takes about 5 minutes the night before, they sit in the fridge, and are ready to eat in the morning! No cooking needed, how perfect is that??? And you can make any flavor you want! I use equal parts oats, yogurt, and milk, along with a handful of berries and a banana. Kath adds way more things into hers, but I’m still pretty new at this, so I’m experimenting as I go.  My sister is too, she made a delicious pumpkin one, and WOW was it good!  It’s great to try things together, she’s been way more inventive then me. I find something I like and stick with it, she get’s adventurous!  She even made a Cherry Almond batch, and that was REALLY good too! I think once fall gets a little closer, I’ll try a Pumpkin Maple, or Apple Cinnamon, or use Apple Cider….? I love fall flavors, but I don’t want to rush it, so I’m sticking with berries for now!

Ingredients for deliciousness

I make a big jar full and eat it at home, then bring it to the office and eat more later

  • 1 Cup Oats
  • 1 Cup Yogurt
  • 1 Cup Milk 
  • Handful of sliced Strawberries
  • A few mashed up Raspberries
  • One Banana sliced up
  • Just mix it all up, put the lid on the jar and let it sit overnight.

Finished Product!

 Everyone should try making Overnight Oats! It’s healthy, easy and delicious! In fact, it’s time for me to go make mine. 🙂

8 thoughts on “Breakfast to go, without the drive thru.

  1. Hi Jess,

    Yes if you use apple juice it’s making a Muesli, which is nice for those who don’t care for milk, like myself. Of course soaking your oats in strawberry infused vodka could make a nice brunch kicker! No driving allowed!

    p.s. i found the subscribe link ;~)

    • Great minds think alike! One morning I didn’t have strawberries, and threw the idea out there on FB of subbing the Strawberry Vodka. Everyone loved the idea 😉

      I had no idea about the Muesli!!!!! You are a wealth of info!!!! You totally rock Sophie!

  2. Overnight oatmeal is wonderful!! I’ve put together my own version (different proportions) but it is so nice to ‘grab and go’ whether you are home or running out the door.

    It is an acquired taste for some–I eat it cold and use Bob’s rolled oats but a friend could not get past the idea that “oatmeal should be hot”.

  3. Pingback: Good Morning French Toast Bake | Burlap and Butter Knives

What do you think?

