My Blue Heaven, and Brining 101

So there’s this place I go during the Summer, it takes three hours to get there, and what feels like an eternity to leave.  It’s a place I hold near and dear to my heart, nestled just outside Lake George, NY.   There’s no cell service, no internet, no cable TV, just the sound of the lake, the cicadas, and whatever else nature decides to throw our way.  If there was year round access, I would never want to leave, it’s a special little cabin called “The Wishing Well.”

Here’s a little piece of my blue heaven….

Cooking there consists usually of grilling, and my favorite way to grill is brining steaks and chicken.  Brining is an amazing way to transform meat.  Pardon the hand in the picture (pretty sure we were all grabbing for the steak) but if the look on Taylor’s face isn’t an indication of how amazing that steak was, I don’t know what is!

 

my blue heaven

Brining is super easy:

  • 1 Cup Salt
  • 1 Gallon Water
  • Whatever spices you feel like using

Honestly, I cheat, I eye-ball it, and it’s never failed me. I take half the amount of water, put it in a pan, and add the salt. I bring it to a boil with whatever spices I feel like using (yes I realize I am completely and utterly vague, but this is cooking, not rocket science. Go with what YOU like, what YOU want to taste, and go crazy with it!) Personally, I used garlic, onion, salt, pepper, and crushed red pepper. Sometimes I throw basil in, sometimes Rosemary. It always changes. Hell, I even throw BBQ sauce in, yes you read that right BBQ Sauce, like out of a plastic squirt bottle. Let me tell you, it friggin ROCKS! Just thinking about it makes me want it!  So you do all that stove top, bring it to a boil, and then add a ton of ice cubes. Basically to equal out the remaining half-gallon of water. (I am always in a rush and like to get it done as fast as possible) Once it’s cool down, either pour it over your steak or chicken in a big ole bowl, or put your meat in the pot, and then let it sit for a few hours.  The steak in the picture below brined for 2 hours, and based on the look on her face, I’d say it was pretty damn good!

 

What do you think about brining?  Have you tried it?  Like it, love it hate it? Do you think it’s too much “prep” for just a pice of meat?

3 thoughts on “My Blue Heaven, and Brining 101

    • Jenny, I had always stuck with pork and chicken as well, then this one time up at the cabin, my sister and I were wondering, so we rowed out to the middle of the lake (to get reception) and I tweeted Ruhlman asking if we could brine steak, he said yes! And the rest was history. Now we don’t eat it any other way! you MUST try it!!! 🙂 And thank you, I so can’t wait!

  1. Pingback: Weekend outings and garden updates | Burlap and Butter Knives

What do you think?

