Sometimes I forget….

Somewhere along the line I forgot that this IS NOT just a food blog, it’s MY blog, about MY life. Not just what I eat and cook. Although that is a HUGE part of it. Basically I somehow forgot that I can just simply write, write about my life, what’s going on, and there doesn’t always have to be a recipe, or pictures, or anything. So here’s a brief recap…

Without my laptop I feel maimed, like I can only write posts that lack the great food pics I have on my camera, all the step by step pictures to accompany my recipes, the adventures I’ve been having, EVERYTHING! Needless to stay, it’s still being worked on, but there is an end in sight. I should have it within the next week, and I have A LOT of pictures on there for your viewing pleasure!!!!

What have I been up to? I have been busy…. I make bees look slow!!!!!! lol. Let see… I had a fantastic luncheon with some friends from out-of-town; Kerry and her husband Ron. They are kindred spirits and I am so grateful that life has worked its magic to bring them into my life. They even brought me a HUGE box of Pignoli Cookies from Boston. They were the most amazing Pignoli Cookies I have ever had in my life. Oh words cannot even describe them!!!!! Just thinking about them makes me want to convince D aka Crazypants to come visit me. (As if she needs another reason?!?!?!) She can bring Pignoli Cookies and Ricotta Pie’ from Mikes, and I will provide Ruhlman TV specials, libations, food, fun. D come visit! :-).

A few weeks ago we went Apple Picking with Taylor, it was so special and wonderful. I really love that little girl, and I can’t wait to share the pictures with you all.  It was October, but we missed a lot of the apples. But we did get plenty, and made lots of great memories that I can’t wait to tell you all about!!!!! Here’s a hint, it involves me climbing a tree!

Hmmm what else is going on??  Tonight I made a bangin chicken parm, sweet baby jesus it was good. So good I want more right now! Thanksgiving is right around the corner, and this will be the first year I host it in my home. I am thrilled and can’t wait to make a special meal for my family and spend time with them all! 🙂

The Hudson Valley Baking Society has been really busy! It’s great. We had a fantastic fundraiser/bake sale back in September in Port Ewen; and we will be having a Holiday Stollen Baking Workshop coming up in December. There is so much to look forward to.

I made a blog page on Facebook!!!!! Yes, I really did it!!!! So if you haven’t “liked” it yet, go and like it now to stay up to date on everything that happens in between posts. I keep things short and sweet; write about day to day activities, cooking, recipes etc. And if you have any cooking or baking questions you can always post them for a quick answer! Find me at www.facebook.com/greenskiesandsugartrips 

And I FINALLY got a new phone. I am so anti technology!!!! I would have kept that crackberry forever if it took better pics, lol. Well that and after the water incident, it just hasn’t been the same, so it was finally time to get a new one.  I’m still learning how to use it, I’m so not as tech savvy as you would think.

I think that’s about it for now. I’ll stop getting so off track, and I’ll remember that it’s not just about the food. And write more 🙂

xoxo

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Sometimes I forget….

  1. Yes! Deal! I like this plan. Mucho. 😉

    The reason I decided on crazypants was because I wanted to incorporate everything into my blog… not just good but so much else. 🙂 Can’t wait to see pics! I need to get a new camera.

    • I had a feeling you’d like that idea..hehehe 😉 Let’s do it 🙂

      And that’s why I went with “Green Skies and Sugar Trips”, I wanted to talk about EVERYTHING, and then somehow, I forgot lol.

      This camera on my new phone is awesome!!! But I can’t wait to post the pics on my camera, I’ve been having a lot of fun, and been crazy busy. And then there’s that Halloween Costume….oh yea, there are LOTS of Halloween pics to post! 0:-0)

  2. Hi Jessica. Thank you for talking a bit more about your life. I am very happy to know you a bit better 🙂 It sounds like you have been extremely busy indeed!
    Congratulations on the facebook page!

    • Thank you so much Sissi, you are so sweet. 🙂

      Yes, busier than I ever anticipated!!! lol. But I do love it, and it keeps my life so there is never a dull moment. hehehe.

      The page is still a baby, but that you, I am working on growing it. But I know these things take time. It will get there eventually. Patience is not my strong suit lol.

  3. ugh…I need to get more busy..my brain is SHOT! I could really use some distractions!
    normally I would be busy gearing up for turkey day now but looks like we’re skippin’ it this year 😦
    speaking of that though..you’re gonna have fun! …it’s a lot of work but so much can be done ahead of time..I’ve always done my turkeys the Martha way (with cheese cloth soaked in white wine/chicken stock) and they are always super moist and delicious!
    damn I’m getting hungry! ..kinda bummed we’re skippin’ it this year – although I might do something just for me & Bill…haven’t decided yet
    anyway..I hope all goes well with yours 🙂

    • I hear ya on the distractions, it’s probably saving my mind right now! lol

      Skipping Turkey Day 😦 Awwwww, want me to bring you some Friday??

      Usually my Mom does it all, but this year it’s at my place, which is a good AND bad thing. The only good this is that as of Monday morning my surgery has been rescheduled for December; guess I’ll have to wait for those new boobs 😉 I’ve only made a Turkey once before, but I just put foil on top and over it’s legs. I’m thinking this year I’m gonna do up the gravy ahead of time ala Ruhlman style.

      You should do something for you and Bill!!!!! Or We’ll get together and do a Thanksgiving Re-Do or something!!!!

      My brother Danny is bringing the booze; and I’ve got two flasks, so everything should go well. Gotta hide the sharp objects! Oh that reminds me I need to get to Warren and get my knives sharpened!!!!

  4. It was awesome to read about what you’ve been up to. I remember a friend told me, when I hesitated about writing something that wasn’t my usual ‘happy’ in my life, “It’s YOUR blog, YOUR personal journal, it’s there for you to express anything you want to! Don’t worry about what people think!” Well..I never did write it, and just kept to the cooking and baking. LOL Congrats on your new iphone! Can’t wait to see the pics from it!

    • Thank you Lisa! I am thinking doing something for my upcoming birthday, maybe scanning some old pics from the last 30 years or something lol.

      I understand about not writing the “happy” stuff… I usually save that for my late night twitter conversations lol. I generally speak there without a filter lol. I also don’t talk much about my love life on here. Maybe I don’t have the “balls” to put it all out there on here, maybe it easier on twitter cause that’s a little more hidden..? I’m not sure. But I understand you not sticking to cooking and baking. I would love to hear more about your life though, I’m sure others would as well. 🙂

      And I’m loving/hating the new phone, oh it’s not an iphone though, that might be too much technology overload for me lol. but these pics are coming out GREAT!!!! 🙂 They just never want to upload lol.

What do you think?

