A Fantastic Frog-Eating Thanksgiving!!!!

For the very first time EVER; I made Thanksgiving dinner for my own family. Not random people in a restaurant ordering off the menu. Not Millbrook’s “finest”, not the Kings of Stanfordville, not the pride of Palm Beach; my family, MY finest.  And it was quite possibly the best Thanksgiving ever.  Dinner was old school and basic. Turkey, Stuffing (which I can take NO credit for), Mashed Potatoes, Gravy, Turnips, Brussel Sprouts, Green Bean Casserole, Roasted Veggies, Steamed Veggies, Biscuits and Crescent Rolls. I made the mashed potatoes in the morning (around 10) and put them in a crock pot to hold them till dinner (around 1), and that worked PERFECTLY!!!!! A HUGE thank you to Wendy for that AMAZING suggestion!

On to the funny stuff. So just before Danny carved the Turkey, Taylor was hanging out with me in the kitchen, and she told me she wanted to see everything. So I hoisted her up to see everything. We went around the kitchen, looking at each element. And then, we got to the Turkey……

“Aunt Jess…….It’s a FROG!!!!!!!!!!!”

Yep, she looked at the Turkey and knew right away, it was a frog. Becky and I literally laughed out loud, a lot. And then I put her down and she said, in a very sing song voice “frog frog frog frog I’m eating a frog!!!!!” Yep, that’s my culinary extraordinaire of a niece. I love that little girl. Damn proud of her too.

So welcome to our table. These are the pictures of Thanksgiving with us, all fourteen of us. Bat S%$T crazy at times, nutty as heck, outspoken, temperamental, emotional and did I mention crazy. But we love each other and we are a family. A family of the crazy kind, the nutty kind, the very best kind.  And I wouldn’t trade them for anything in the world.

 

I hope your Thanksgiving was as magical as mine.

xoxo

4 thoughts on “A Fantastic Frog-Eating Thanksgiving!!!!

  1. a FROG!! hahaha somehow ‘RIBBIT RIBBIT – happy FROG day’ doesn’t have quite the same ring to it! …but it’s still cute 🙂

    my niece LOVES the skin…she always says: “can I have s’more crispysaltyskin, please?”

What do you think?

