Homemade hummus, so easy to make, there’s no need to buy it!

I love Hummus, really love it. It is healthy, delicious and versatile. You can be “naughty” and dip chips in it,  or go “healthy” and use vegetables or homemade crostini.  Whichever you choose as your “transportation vessel” for this tasty snack, there is no reason to keep buying Hummus at the store when you can make your own for a fraction of the cost, and in about 10 minutes!

Homemade Crostini and Hummus

The recipe here is for a very basic Hummus, but like all the varieties you see stocked on the shelves of your local supermarket, you can flavor it however you want.  If artichokes are your passion, throw some in! If Siracha is your pleasure, throw a tablespoon in! lemon, roasted garlic, fresh garlic, spinach, pine nuts, olives, the possibilities are endless for how you can flavor your hummus.

Ready to be transformed

 Super Easy Hummus:

  • 2 Cans Garbanzo Beans (Drain the beans, but SAVE the “juice” you drain off)
  • 1 & 1/2 Tablespoons Tahini (don’t be scared off by the price, usually about $9-$12 per jar, it will last a long time)
  • Juice from 1/2 of a Large Lemon, or 1 Small Lemon
  • 2 Cloves Garlic
  • 1/2 Cup of the “Bean Juice” that you set aside earlier
  • 1/2 Teaspoon Salt
  • 1/2 Teaspoon Pepper
  • 2 Tablespoons Olive Oil (you can add more at the end if it is too thick for your liking)
  • Add all ingredients to a food processor and allow to “process for about 2-3 minutes or until smooth and “Hummusy”. You may want to wipe down the sides and pulse or process more until everything is the same consistency.
  • Transfer to a dish and if desired sprinkle with some crushed red pepper
  • Great dipping ideas are Endive, Red Pepper Strips, Broccoli, Carrots, Green Beans, Snow Peas, Cauliflower, Celery, Crostini, Pita Chips, Fresh Bread, Sesame Bread Sticks, Pretzels, and just about anything else that can be a vehicle for deliciousness!

Mmmm Mmmm Good!

And of course, enjoy!!!! What kind of Hummus flavor varities do you like?

13 thoughts on “Homemade hummus, so easy to make, there’s no need to buy it!

  1. What a good reminder. I usually buy hummus but like you say it is so easy to make! I like mine spicy, maybe I will try some with chipotle peppers (can’t decide if that would be weird or good with tahini).

    • Thank you Emmy!!! It really is one of those things that is SO easy, we forget we can make it ourselves!

      The great thing about making it yourself is that you can control the amount of Tahini you add in. If smokey flavor is what you are going for, then I would try chipotle, BUT if spice is what you long for, try some Siracha, or chili paste, both would give it a great amount of flavor and spice, but without the smokeyness. Let me know how it turns out! 🙂

  2. mmmmm, the only thing I like better than hummus is tziki sauce! One time I took my little garbanzo beans and the other friendly citizens of hummus town and introduced them to half of a small jar of pesto! Let me tell you, there was dancing in the town hall that night…..sigh….the memories….8-)

    I have a question for you. Last night I made a dish in the crockpot: chicken, carrots, onion, celery, canned diced tomatoes, chicken broth, Italian seasoning. I followed the recipe and after it had cooked the required time, I was supposed to put in some “no yolks” noodles and frozen peas and cook for another 20 minutes. I noticed that there wasn’t enough liquid for the noodles, so I added some more chicken broth. I rinsed the peas in hot water so they wouldn’t cool the pot too much, stirred in the noodles, and put the lid on. Since I knew that the added broth would take a little bit to warm up, I cooked it for about 30 – 35 minutes instead of the 20. It turned out quite tasty, except that I might add a little salt next time (I had used sodium free broth). Well, lo and behold, my noodles had dissolved! Now I’m 65, and I’ve been cooking since I was 18 and just married, and I have never heard of noodles dissolving. Obviously, I did something wrong, but what???

    xo Linda

    • Hi Linda, and thank you so much for coming by my blog! Sorry for the delay, I’m a bit behind this week.

      THAT sounds divine!! Was it like a pesto hummus?? It really sounds great!!!

      Hmmmm, so the noodles dissolved, as in were mushy/gone, or dissolved as in broken in to many many pieces??? Oddly enough I had a similar experience this week. I used Pennslyvania Dutch noodles for the first time ever, and they did NOT hold up well. They broke into many many pieces!!!! I had never had that happen, I cooked them the same way I have always cooked egg noodles!! But it WAS my first time using PD noodles, so what brand did you use???

      My other though is that egg noodles can be very delicate, and once they are cooked to doneness, they can deteriorate rapidly. So maybe it was just took long of a time? If they took on too much liquid that could have cause them to turn into mush?

      hmmm, let me know what you think, and what brand they were.

      I hope this helps!!

      xoxoxo

  3. you made healthy hummus! lol The recipe that i use is way less healthy, compared to mine, but it’s still “good for you” i guess. I’ve never used the “bean juice” before, but i’m thinking that way would obviously cut alota calories, versus the 1c of xvoo and about 2.5 times (maybe even more!) the tahini you use. Granted, i use 3 cans of bean but still, half a 15oz can of tahini is alot! I have to add though one thing i do use that you don’t use is soy sauce. Silly i know, but it really adds a bit of extra depth that is always missing in the store bought stuff for me. Just for fun, next time you make it try it out you might like it, probably about 2 or 3T of it, or to taste. I’ll try this recipe out soon since I have everything in my cupboard and nothing to dip all the veggies i just bought in 🙂

    • OMG WOW, I want to try yours just to see what it tastes like!!!!!!

      Yea “bean juice” really cuts a lot of calories!!!! I did a 3can batch of hummus a few weeks ago, and I only used 2.5Tbsp Tahini in it and it was still delicious! Soy sauce, WOW, I bet that is good. Ooooh, how about soy and sirach. I will definitely try the soy in it next time. That is a great idea!!!

  4. In a desperate fit of missing you and wanting to share the experience with The Teesh, I halved this recipe WITH THE EXCEPTION OF the lemon and garlic. I left that as is. I also subbed the olive oil with Meyer lemon infused olive oil. Banging lemony garlic goodness. The perfect complement to gin and elderflower cocktails. Buon appetito, bitches!

    • Awwww, thanks love!! You are SO my BFF, best bitch foreva!!! hehehe. I am totally going through Kerry withdrawal!! Chris and Riley are too, maybe that is the reason behind their temper tantrums??? So glad you are sharing the experience with The Teesh, of course some things just cannot be replicated… brown sugar lit figs with baby jesus 🙂 and rock candy rims 🙂 That was such an AWESOME weekend!!! Thank so so much for coming up for the weekend and letting me stuff you full of food!!!!

      Ummm that hummus sounds off the chain!!!!!!! So the cocktail was good?? How was the cucumber in it?!?! I am DYING TO know!!!!

  5. Reblogged this on Dreality and commented:
    I have recently started cooking adventurously again. And by adventurously I mean recipes and food that I am not already comfortable or familiar with. This looks like I’ll need to buy another piece of kitchen hardware, but I think it will be well worth it!

    • Michelle that is wonderful!!!! And inspiring. There are definitely some items I would love to try but am a bit afraid of, so maybe it’s time to take them on!

      I definitely recommend getting a food processor. They are SO versitile, there is so much you can do with them!!! If you have any questions please feel free to ask me. 🙂

      • Thanks! I’ve been trying to get out of my cooking shell lately and hummus is one thing I have recently come to like as it is a much healthier option to cream based dips. I’m excited to try it!

What do you think?

