Hudson Valley Wine Fest, better late than never

A few days before my epic computer crash, I had the privilege of attending the Hudson Valley Wine Fest, courtesy of Fine Cooking Magazine! I won a four pack of tickets through a twitter contest, and I was PSYCHED!!!! I had always wanted to check it out, but timing wise it just never worked out. This time around not only did it work out, but I was given tickets and I was taking some fantastic friends as guests!

Via a late night twitter convo, I told Ken, aka Hungry Rabbit, that if I won I would take he and M, with me; along with my date, I brought the infamous Stanley Samantha Jones Blanch Deveroux, otherwise know as Michael!  Once there we met up with my dear friend Winnie of Healthy Green Kitchen (and her daughter Maddie) and went to watch Abby Dodge  do a series of baking demos for Fine Cooking Magazine. It was my first time meeting Abby and she is such a doll!!! She is sweet as pie with a great sense of humor!!!

The fest itself was good, but what really made it was my friends. I’ll be honest, the fest itself wasn’t exactly what I expected…. I am so grateful to Fine Cooking for the tickets, but had I been a paying guest I would have been really disappointed. It was extremely overcrowded, as in barely any room to move, and it was HOT. Hot and alcohol are not a good mix.  Also It’s the food and wine fest, but there was almost no food (other than crackers and a dessert). The “food” portion was only a food tent that you could purchase food tickets for, but it was not included in the price of the ticket, and the vendors in it were unprepared and the food, eh. As for the wine the pours, they were VERY small; so small it was hard to really even taste the wine.  And the people representing the wineries were cold and inhospitable; honestly not very nice at all. I was shocked!! They were terrible representations of their wineries!!!

On a good note, there was a huge assortment of wineries there!!! It was fantastic to see just how many wineries are in NY!!!! There was something for everyone, and it gave me a lot of ideas on places to go for a day trip.  The organizers really did a wonderful job of representing all areas of the wine spectrum as well as the state. The best part was definitely the fine cooking demos, and of course, the spectacular friends I went with! 🙂 Enjoy the pictures!

2 thoughts on “Hudson Valley Wine Fest, better late than never

    • Awww thanks love!! And you and M were pretty spectacular yourself!!!And all the people watching opportunities were splendidforous! You are so welcome, I am so glad it worked out for us to all go together!

      And one word…. “Pruney” hehehehe

      xoxoxo

What do you think?

