Searching for a sign

In my life, I am always searching for the meaning of things; I always want to know the “why” and the reason behind things. Sometimes this gets me into trouble… I don’t know I just always NEED to be able to understand things, I can never just accept things. It’s probably one of my worst and best traits lol.  For the past few years I have been thinking about what tattoo to get next. I’ve had some ideas, some better than others, and some, well it’s a good thing I didn’t get them…

For a while now, I have had my heart set on a few: “dolce far niente”,  a dandelion on my shoulder blowing in the wind, a four leaf clover, and faith hope and love, each intertwined into an infinity symbol.  Faith, Hope, and Love are three things at the core of who I am. But ink is permanent, so I want to make sure whatever I get, that it’s right, ya know?  Of course looking for a sign of what tat to get seems ridiculous, right?  So I basically ask my sister once a week what she thinks of the idea, and she loves it and thinks it’s a great idea. But every time I go to explain the tatoo to her or anyone else, I say “The faith goes on the back base of my neck, hope goes on my left wrist and love goes on my right wrist”, yet when I go to explain it, and say hope, for some reason I always extend my right wrist, and then when I say love, I extend my left. This makes no sense, because then I have to stop myself and say no that’s the wrong wrists and explain that LOVE goes on my right wrist and HOPE goes on my left.  It irritates me that my brain keeps messing up when it is clearly NOT how I want the ink on me forever!!! Well I was in the shower thinking about what it will look like once it is on, I was thinking “Faith, Hope, and Love” as I thought hope I envisioned it on my left, yet there in the shower extended my right wrist, and as I thought “Love” extended my left.  And then I looked at my wrists and it hit me, Love BELONGS on the left wrist!!!! Of course it does!!!! Where do people wear wedding rings?? On the left hand! I’m not married, but anyone who knows me knows how I feel about love, and how I regard it. So of course “Infinite love” belongs on the hand what wears a wedding ring!!! And BAM! There’s my sign! I will save talking about the meaning of this tattoo for when I get it; but I will say, Faith Hope and Love are, and have always been, a huge part of who I am.  The meaning of this tattoo goes back to when I was little, and continues through to my every day life and heart, and love.  Life is beautiful, but not always easily understood; especially when it comes to matters of love.  But if you have faith, and hope in that love….well, anyone that knows me, knows…. 😉

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

These pictures are NOT of me!!! These are just pics I found online of what I want .  But on mine all the script style will be the same and the lines will be more like the lines pictured with the “love”!

I feel SO ready for this new ink!!!!

8 thoughts on “Searching for a sign

  1. Jessica,
    Those tats are beautiful. Please share a picture when you get yours. I really adore nice tats. I’m 65, and I’m always complementing people with ones I like. They probably think I’m a looney old lady….lol. I didn’t care anything about them when I was younger, but now I want to get one….crazy, huh! I’d like to get some kind of a delicate ring on the base of my left forefinger. My older daughter has a cool frog on the base of her neck, and her name (Deidre) on her left shoulder. A couple of my boys have them, too. They have become so much more than ink on your skin. They’re now such a personal statement. Duh, look who I’m telling….8-)

    • Thank you so much Linda!!!

      When I get them I will definitely make a post on it with pictures 🙂 I can hardly wait!

      You should get one (or some!) no one will think you are a looney old lady at all!!! Get it!!!! Where do you live? Are you in NY? My guy Randy is the best!!!!

      And yes, they are definitely so much more than ink on skin. For me, faith, hope and love, are the core of who I am, and what I believe and try to put into practice. It comes from a Bible verse actually; and though I am not a religious person, I am deeply spiritual, and when I was a young girl it was kinda the only verse I liked and it stuck with me. 🙂

      Go get some ink!!!

  2. I also have always wanted to know the why for things and my search has taken me down paths that I never would have dreamed for myself (me? digging astrophysics? reading stephen hawking? really?) but I think curiosity is the best gift a mind can have, I have found out that we KNOW so many things about nearly EVERYTHING. And its all there for the taking, just reach out and read it or watch it and you too can know it. It amazes me in ways that other things personally never did, just how much we can know and how much we can wrap our heads around things we used to only think of as incomprehensible or miracles just a few decades ago. It has made me realize that every question does have an answer if you look hard enough. I have only just begun 🙂 So I was considering getting a small tatoo on my inner wrist that says in typeface Think

    • Haeley I love that idea for a tat! And yes, all the info is there for the taking, and I seriously always looking stuff up, and reading. I LOVE learning, I have turned into a complete dork. I’m completely proud of it too 🙂

      What seems to get me more though, are the things I cannot find answers to, the things that we can’t google, lol. Its the things about life, the internal things, the “why didn’t this happen, why did this happen”, why certain things last and others don’t, why people make the decisions they make when they so clearly want to make a different one… those are the things that plague me, the things I CAN’T find the answers to. :-/

      With that said, there are so many things to focus on that I can find the answers to, so I’ll spend my time on those, and continue learning and growing and maybe in time the others answers will come… 🙂

  3. Immediately I thought love should be on the left – I kept screaming at the monitor – your wedding ring goes on the left but of course smart girl that you are figured it out. 🙂

    • funny how it worked out though….. 😉 Also… take a look at the little “icon” that separates post on here…. I SWEAR TO GOD I did not seledcet that, NOR was it advertised as part of the theme when I selected this….

  4. I like those a lot. I was going to say that love goes on the left because it is closer to your heart (which is, I believe, why the ring is there). Faith, which must be tempered by knowledge is well placed on your neck. Hope without action (by the dominant hand) is merely dream.

    • You are so smart!!!! I agree on each level. And I had placed faith there for that reason exactly. But I LOVE what you said about hope!!!! That is GENIUS!!!! I hadn’t thought of that at all. You rock! When I finally unveil the tattoos I am including this in it!!

What do you think?

