how to make perfect hard boiled eggs, it’s so easy!

Hard boiled eggs; eggs cooked in water, it shouldn’t be that hard, right?!?!  Yet somehow perfection alludes us all and we end up with an egg that is hardboiled with a green/blue ring around the outside of the yolk. WHY  oh WHY does that happen?!? It irritates me to no end, it’s ugly and I am convinced it makes the egg taste different!

See, no green!

See, no green!

A few months back I went though all my cooking magazines and “ripped” out the recipes I wanted to keep, read, try etc.  (They then go individually into plastic page protectors and are organized by course, type of food, ethnicity, etc)  Anyone that knows me, knows that I am an OCD anal retentive weirdo.  I do NOT rip up magazines! In fact, on Christmas I flipped out on my mom because she “creased” the magazine.  In all fairness it was a Martha Stewart magazine, and those I do NOT rip up and take apart. They are sacred treasures, like the Bible, and are never to be disturbed, hurt, fondled, mishandled etc.  I LOVE Martha. I have been saving her “Weddings” magazines for about 13years. Which is ironic considering how it is my FIRM belief that when you marry the right person there is no need for a lavish hoopla or a huge ring.  Being able to be with the person you love, that is satisfaction enough.  Alas I digress, I will elaborate on my thoughts on engagements, weddings and receptions another time.

Ok, so back to Eggs!! I was going through the magazines and found an article in cooking light on how to make a perfect boiled egg so I pulled it out to add to my binder;  because well, I HAD to.  I will admit, I was very skeptical.   But, I tried it and it worked! The eggs were perfection!

Ok, so here goes the best method ever for making hard-boiled eggs!

  • Place eggs in pan
  • Add water till it covers the eggs with water by about 1 inch
  • Turn flame/ heat on to high
  • When the water boils, put a lid on the pan, then turn the flame off.
  • Set your timer for 10minutes
  • When the timer rings/minutes are up, place the eggs into an ice bath to cool
  • Eat and use as needed!!!

And just in case you need a few more reasons to eat eggs; here are links to great resources on the health benefits of eggs!

http://www.healthdiaries.com/eatthis/10-health-benefits-of-eggs.html

http://www.whfoods.com/genpage.php?tname=foodspice&dbid=92

http://www.cookinglight.com/cooking-101/techniques/cooking-questions-tips-00400000064986/page36.html

Enjoy!!!

3 thoughts on “how to make perfect hard boiled eggs, it’s so easy!

  1. This is totally how I make my eggs! The only difference is I crack them when I put them into the water bath, it allows the cool water to get in so they are super easy to peel!

  2. Pingback: Classic Macaroni Salad, just like Grandma used to make! | Burlap and Butter Knives

What do you think?

