scaling back, re-prioritizing and healthy, delicious panko chicken

This time last year it seemed I had time for everything.  This year that is not the case at all!  Between work, home, the garden, canning & jamming, learning preserving & pickling, getting Sugar Trips started, and all the usual “home duties” I have ZERO time; Not a second to spare. So I have scaled back on my commitments, a lot.  My sister Becky is pregnant (yay for being an Auntie again!!) so with that, and my lack of time, it was with a heavy heart we decided to not do the big garden this year.  Since we weren’t doing the big garden, I expanded my backyard garden. I tripled the size of the actual physical garden, and then doubled the amount of containers I’m planting. Of course this decision to expand the backyard garden came after I had already weeded and re-bricked the little garden. So we ripped up half the back yard, tilled it, and then mixed in some amazing fertilizer.  I am still in the process of finishing the border on the “new garden.” It’s almost done!

Original Size

 

Current Size, without the border

What my dining room looks like when it freezes for a week

I have been trying to get Sugar Trips off the ground for the past year, and when I say “trying” I mean wanting to do it, but not having the time available needed to devout to getting it up and running. Thus it has nestled into it’s home on the back-burner and little by little I have worked on it. I have been reading and note taking from some fantastic books on starting a home baking business. They have been so helpful, and they were written by an amazing and inspiring woman, Mimi Shotland Fix, who happens to be a Hudson Valley resident.  If you have ever thought of having a home based food business her books are a must;  Home Baking for Profit, and Start and Run a Home Based Food Business. I finally designed and ordered my business cards, have my DBA, and a call in for my inspection; I am moving along, little by little.

With all this lack of time, it can be really trying to find something  for dinner that doesn’t require a lot of work. (allowing me to do all the other things on my list) One of my go-to meals, is actually super easy and delicious. Let me introduce you to my good friend, panko chicken.  She is tasty, delicious, flavorful, juicy, and guess what, she’s healthy too.


I have never done a workup on the nutritional info of this recipe, but it can’t possibly be bad. Chicken, basic breading, seasoning, olive oil, see nothing bad!  This is really a  no fool recipe!

 

Panko Chicken 

  • Preheat your oven to 375F
  • 2 Boneless Chicken Breast
  • 1 Cup flour seasoned with salt and pepper
  • 2 Eggs, Dash of Milk or Water (add a little salt in to thin it out)
  • 2 Cups Bread Crumbs, season them with seasoned salt, garlic powder, salt and pepper, anything you want!
  • Set up your dipping area, see the above layout
  • Coat the chicken first in flour, then the egg, then the breadcrumbs
  • Place breasts on a lined baking sheet, and spray the top of each breast with olive oil. (I use an olive oil sprayer, but you can use Pam Spray if you don’t have a sprayer)
  • Bake for 40 minutes, take out, let rest for 5 minutes, and enjoy!

 

What do you think?

