Infinite Faith, Hope and Love Tattoos

bw ink

“Live your life that the fear of death can never enter your heart.
Trouble no one about his religion.
Respect others in their views and demand that they respect yours.
Love your life, perfect your life, beautify all things in your life.
Seek to make your life long and of service to your people.
Prepare a noble death song for the day when you go over the great divide.
Always give a word or sign of salute when meeting or passing a friend,
or even a stranger, if in a lonely place.
Show respect to all people, but grovel to none.
When you rise in the morning, give thanks for the light,
for your life, for your strength.
Give thanks for your food and for the joy of living.
If you see no reason to give thanks, the fault lies in yourself.
Abuse no one and no thing, for abuse turns the wise ones to fools
and robs the spirit of its vision.
When your time comes to die,
be not like those whose hearts are filled with fear of death,
so that when their time comes they weep and pray for a little more time
to live their lives over again in a different way.
Sing your death song, and die like a hero going home.” –  Tecumseh

Faith, Hope and Love;  this is what I am made of.  Everyone has faith, whether they realize it or not. Even atheists have faith, it might be faith in “nothing” per se, but it is a faith none the less.  Farmers have faith that the seeds they put in the ground will grow.  We ALL have faith.  1 Corinthians 13:13.   “Three things will last forever–faith, hope, and love–and the greatest of these is love.”  It is the last verse in a series of verses about love.  I have always loved that, it always stuck a cord in me.

And now… the long awaited explanation of each tattoo….

 I have faith. It is the base of my beliefs, it IS my belief! It is at the core of who I am!  That is why I put it on my neck. The neck is the stem of our being, everything connects there, it is our base, our core. I have faith in everything, faith in hope, faith in love, faith in my spirituality and faith in myself.  Faith is defined in Hebrews 11:1 as this:   “Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen.”  If we don’t have faith, whether it is in that the seeds we plant in the ground will grow, or that the sun will shine tomorrow, then we have nothing.

I have hope.  Hope and faith very similar, but also different. Faith is a belief while hope is a feeling. You can have hope without faith but that’s just wishful thinking. My friend Beth pointed out that “Hope without action is meaningless, so it is fitting that it is on my right, aka dominate, hand.”   Hope and faith work hand in hand. (wow, as I look at my wrist, didn’t intend that pun!)  I even have faith and hope in love. My love life, well it’s complicated. But I hope for things to work out as they should, and have faith that it will happen. Interesting then that faith is on my neck, connecting love and hope together. My tattoos seem to reveal more of themselves each day.

I have Love.  I have a lot of love in my life.  I have an amazing family, who through good and bad, we always love each other. Not all of us, but most of us, why, because sometimes love is a decision you make.  I have the world’s most adorable nieces Taylor and Olivia. A brand new nephew Connor.  I have two little brothers whom I have learned SO much from, they are such a blessing to our family.  I might not say it much or talk about them much, but those little guys have taught me so much about life and love.

I could go on forever about my infinite belief in faith, hope and love, but I think that’s about it for now.

FYI, I am NOT 100% happy with the ink. I had them done at a shop in Hopewell Junction NY. The first session was a disaster, after waiting FOUR HOURS (and I booked an appointment) once she started the girl kept saying, oh my god I am SO tired….. and she messed up big time!!!!! Then I had to go back again, for her to finish them.. My wrists as exactly as I wanted them, although she went MUST too deep with the needle and caused scarring, and the ink they used did not heal black AT ALL. It is completely faded. And my neck.. oh I won’t even get started on how messed up the neck is!!!  But maybe that is the lesson, that faith isn’t perfect? 😉

3 thoughts on “Infinite Faith, Hope and Love Tattoos

  1. I am sorry your first experience wasn’t good. Keep looking for a good tattoo artist a good one can make them right for you.

    I got my first tattoo this past summer while visiting family in Missouri. We have a tattoo guy in California that has tattooed my husband and daughter. He is going to do my next two tattoos when we go back to CA for a visit.

  2. Pingback: Tattoo Design Faith Hope Love - Cars And Autos Blog

What do you think?

