How to make roast beef, a simple, straightforward and easy method I guarantee to be delicious.

It started innocently enough, my love affair with beef.  As the tale goes, we were in a restaurant in Florida and as I (a teeny tiny adorable little Italian Irish Princess) grew hungry, I exclaimed “WHERE’S THE BEEF????”  Volia, history was made. Some of my earliest food memories are of my father making steaks; and while I love my steak memories, nothing quite warms my heart like the way Roast Beef does.  Its hearty goodness, bursting at the seams with flavor,  dripping with just the right amount of fatty goodness. Crisp on the outside and on the inside warm and soft with silky pink juices flowing freely with each slide of the knife.  Oh no, we aren’t discussing restaurant roast beef, making a juicy and flavorful roast beef at home is completely within your reach. My method is a 2 day process, but easy as peanut butter and jelly and well worth it the effort!! That being said, yes I realize some people buy their peanut butter and jelly premade, but that is a discussion for another day. Oy vey!

Perfectly cooked Roast Beef

Perfectly cooked Roast Beef

I prefer to use a rump roast, but you may many different cuts. A few I have found to be good are  top round (rump), bottom round (rump), eye round,  top sirloin (top butt roast  or center cut roast), Tri tip; or just ask your butcher what cuts they have available and would be good for roasting. Chances are you can find a very inexpensive cut that will be enough to feed your whole family.

Juicy and Rare

Juicy and Rare

 

Roast beef sliced, and with all the fixings!

Roast beef sliced, and with all the fixings!

Roast Beef Recipe

Day 1: Make your dry rub 

  • 2 tablespoons each garlic powder, onion powder, seasoned salt 
  • 1 teaspoon ground red pepper
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • 1 teaspoon pepper
  • Generous handful of brown mustard
  1. Combine all the dried spices together in a bowl and mix well to ensure they are evenly distributed.
  2. Coat the rmeat liberally with the mustard
  3. Taking the spices in your hand, sprinkle them, pour them, whatever works for you, to coat the roast COMPLETELY.  I am talking encased completely!  Use up all the dried spices and make sure every inch is covered.
  4. Wrap tightly in plastic wrap!
  5. Set in the fridge overnight, fat side down.
Whole and resting, then sliced and waiting

Whole and resting, then sliced and waiting

Day 2: Roast the beast

  1. About an hour before you plan to roast it, Take the roast out of the fridge, unwrap and place in the pan you intend to roast it in, fat side up.
  2. Preheat oven to 450°f, calculate your total cooking time, 20 minutes per pound for medium rare,  for a rare center, 15 minutes per pound.
  3. When the hour is up, put the roast on a center rack in the oven, and cook at 450°f  for  15 minutes
  4. Reduce heat to 350°f and continue to cook for the remaining length of time. (As an example, for a 4lb roast, I cook it 15 minutes at 450°f, and then 65 minutes at 350°f)
  5. Take out of the oven, place on a cutting board, slicing platter or large plate (where ever you intend to cut it)  and allow to rest for 20 minutes.  Just take it out, set it there, and walk away, don’t touch it!  I don’t use a meat thermometer, I use this method.  The roast pictured here in this post,  I cooked using the 15minute per pound guide, specifically because I wanted a very rare center, to be used another day for steak sandwiches.
  6. I cannot stress to you enough, the importance of letting meat rest after cooking. This is one of the first things we learned at the CIA, and I have remembered it always. It allows the meat to finish cooking, this is called “carryover cooking”, things like steak and roasts will rise in temperature another 5 degrees during this process!  It also allows the juices to redistribute evenly, allowing for a piece of meat that is juicy throughout, and also keeps more of the juices inside the meat once you cut it, and you want the juice!  Before I bore you anymore with the science of it all, just look at the pictures here at serious eats, if these pictures don’t convince you to put down the knife and wait, nothing will! 😉
  7. When the 20 minutes are up, slice that beast up and enjoy however you like your roast beef.  With gravy, potatoes, on a sandwich, rolled around asparagus, any way you want!
Roast Beef Deliciousness

Roast Beef Deliciousness

6 thoughts on “How to make roast beef, a simple, straightforward and easy method I guarantee to be delicious.

    • Hi Laura, and thank you for stopping by and the compliments! It is much easier than you would think. This really is my tried and true method, I really encourage you to give it a try. You don’t need an expensive cut for it to be good, I think I paid about 8 dollars for this roast! Let me know how you like it. 🙂

  1. Hi, Jessica, I am planning a special anniversary dinner and want to serve roast beef for about 50 people. What adjustments for time or temperature, if any, should I know about for cooking a 15 lb. roast, or would it be better to cook two smaller roasts? Also, if the meat has to be held for an hour after cooking, do you have any suggestions for keeping it from overcooking?
    I would be very grateful for any help you can offer. Thank you.
    Barbara

    • Hi Barbara, I apologize for the delay. I have been taking a break and focusing on the little one. A large one would be fine. I would follow the same guidelines with timing. But if it does need to be held for an hour I would cook it a little less, tent it with tin foil and then just before serving stick it back in sans foil and put the broiler on and it will get a good char and warm up more

What do you think?

