A new year

​Aside from my usual “new years” goal, to be a perfect blend of Mary Poppins and Martha Stewart, I am also going to push myself to be a better friend, to actually be a friend.  Last year was very dark for me, the last 2 years actually, and I retreated from life. I unfriended/deleted/retreated from pretty much everyone I knew, interacted with no one, certainly not in real life and barely here on the internet. I reached out to no one. I wasn’t there for anyone, had no one over, I made absolutely zero deposits into the friendship bank.  This year, I aim to change that. I’m going to set the bar pretty low to start, maybe send text messages, try and reestablish friendships. But the point here is, I am going to try, I am going to be a better friend this year, heck, maybe even have people over to swim this summer. I know,  I know, just set the bar at medium with that.  Here’s to brutal honesty and being a better friend.

One thought on “A new year

  1. I can understand your need to pull away from things. Not the reason, of course, but the need. I lost my job of 28 years in November. I am 70, and was planning to work one more year, but my boss wanted me out NOW, so she dredged up everything she could find on me, and added a few lies, so I am now retired, whether I like it or not. I have been licking my wounds ever since. The bitterness and pain are slowly seeping out of me, but the injury to my soul will take a lot longer to heal. I have let one or two people in, but I’ve mostly become a hermit. I don’t like being alone, and I miss the interaction with the people I worked with. All but a very few of them were young enough to be my children, and a few fit into the granddaughter slot, and an awful lot of them came to me for help, or to confide in. It made me feel useful, and I’ve had that snatched away from me. My kids and grands all live too far away to visit, even if I was able to get around. I don’t know if I’ve ever mentioned here that I can’t stand or walk w/o a walker. I’m still angry at my body for letting me down in my “golden years.” I am trying to sew, and I find it’s difficult to remember what day of the week it is, when every day is like Saturday. I can’t think of a goal to strive for. I wish I did.

    I hope this year turns out better for you. I see that little doll photobombing you. I bet you get lots of hugs and kisses from her. Enjoy those as much as you can. Close your eyes and just feel them. Know that I am thinking of you. I always love your blog posts, and appreciate the work that you put into them.

    xo Linda

What do you think?

