Saving rusted heaters

As part of my non stop diy home projects, I am fixing the rusted baseboard heaters downstairs.  It’s fast, simple and cheap and I can do it myself. Granted it takes a bit longer trying to squeeze in doing it while she naps, since she rarely naps and needs to be physically attached to me always, so getting away from her for projects like this is difficult. Anyhow, I am FINALLY in the home stretch. So I  thought I would show you how it’s done. 


I wish I had taken photos before sanding the rust off, because there was a lot of it. 

You will need.

  • A face mask
  • Safety eye protection 
  • Gloves
  • Sander or sand paper
  • A dust rag
  • Newspaper or brown paper to protect walls from the spray paint
  • Rust stopping spray paint (lowes or home depot have it)
  • And a few minutes to spare.  

  1. Tape up newspaper around the baseboards to protect the walls. If you are painting the walls after then you don’t even have to do this step
  2. Put on your face mask, gloves and protective eye wear.
  3. Sand all rusted spots off your baseboards l, get it nice and smooth.
  4. Vacuum up debris or dust or wipe down the baseboards.  
  5. Open all windows!!
  6. Spray paint the baseboards, follow the instructions on the can. Long even strokes are best, and don’t forget to stop and shake the can often. 
  7. Keep all the windows open and let the area air out as long as possible.  


After, you can either keep them just as is, or paint them any color you like. I’ll be painting these a dark light gray. Yes, there is such a thing. 

What do you think?

